Skip to main content


2022 Ryman Prize winner | Perminder Sachdev

The Institute is pleased to announce that Professor Perminder Sachdev has been awarded the 2022 Ryman Prize by the Right Hon Jacinda Ardern, Prime Minister of New Zealand.  Perminder Sachdev is Scientia Professor of Neuropsychiatry at UNSW Sydney (UNSW), Co-Director of the Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing (CHeBA), UNSW, and Clinical Director of the Neuropsychiatric Institute, Prince of Wales Hospital in Sydney, Australia. He is a world-leading researcher who has dedicated his long career to understanding the causes and treatment of psychiatric disorders including dementia.

The Institute Director, Professor Sarah Harper, has served on the Ryman International Committee since its creation in 2015. The Ryman Prize is an annual prize consists of a $250,000 grant which is awarded by an international jury to the best invention, idea, research concept or initiative that has enhanced quality of life for older people. The call for 2023 prizes will be announced next year.