Skip to main content


Professor Sarah Harper CBE elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences

Sarah Harper, Clore Professor of Gerontology, Fellow  University College, and Director of the Oxford Institute of Population Ageing, has been elected Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. Her research seeks to advance understanding of the dynamics of population ageing, one of the largest and fastest growing global healthcare challenges.

She is one of 59 influential biomedical and health scientists whose fellowships were announced by the Academy of Medical Sciences today. The new Fellows have been elected to the Academy in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the advancement of biomedical and health science, cutting edge research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society.

Professor Harper said: ‘I am delighted and honoured to be elected a Fellow. It is an important recognition of  the work on population ageing which I and colleagues here at the Institute of Population Ageing have undertaken  over the past 25 years. This award further demonstrates the important role that a multidisciplinary approach  has  to play in advancing human health.’

Professor Dame Anne Johnson PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: ‘These new Fellows are pioneering biomedical research and driving life-saving improvements in healthcare, from understanding the spread of infectious diseases to developing mental health interventions. It’s a pleasure to recognise and celebrate their exceptional talent by welcoming them to the Fellowship.’

Professor David Adams FMedSci, Registrar of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: ‘As individuals, these new Fellows are all outstanding, but it is the collective might of their wisdom, their commitment to improving health and their dedication to the pursuit of knowledge that can really change lives.’

Professor Harper is one of eight members of the University of Oxford to be elected to the Fellowship this year. The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy on Wednesday 12 July 2023.

►Further info: Outstanding biomedical and health researchers elected to Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowship | The Academy of Medical Sciences